Answered By: Katy Webb
Last Updated: Aug 12, 2014     Views: 119

Please note: These instructions are for PCs in the library computer labs.

Open "Computer" on the desktop by clicking the icon.


Under "Computer", you will see the C: and the U: Drives listed. Your PirateID will be the name of your drive.
Anything you save on the computer on the C: Drive will be automatically deleted whenever the machine is restarted or at the end of the day, whichever comes first. This is done by a program called Deep Freeze whose purpose is to keep the computer clear and uniform. The Desktop, My Documents etc… all exist on the C: Drive.


The U: Drive (Piratedrive) does not erase at each restart and is a safer place to store your work. This still can be considered a permanent place to store your work. It will provide an extra margin of safety in case of an unforseen problem such as a power outage. The storage space can be increased from 1 GB to 2 GB. The Piratedrive data is backed up nightly with a monthly backup maintained for 12 months. Image snaps, called "Checkpoint," are also taken daily and retained for 7 days. This allows users to restore lost files within a 7-day period by simply mapping a drive to the image folder. If files are lost outside the 7-day window, please submit an IT Help Desk request for recovery (http://www.ecu.edu/cs-itcs/piratedrive/index.cfm).

You can also log in to your U: Drive by logging in to OneStop. Simply log in with your PirateID and passphrase, then locate the Pirate Drive in the listing under "Personal."

Related Topics

Contact Us